URISA Focuses on Public Participation GIS in July 29 Webinar

On Monday, July 29, URISA will present an educational webinar on “Public Participation GIS: Using GIS to Support Community Decision Making”. This 90 minute webinar will explore the use of GIS in community decision making, including the process of entering into engagements and the utilization of GIS techniques and software that can be adapted for use in community settings. Examples of both government and community-led projects that encourage citizen participation and engagement will be shown. This webinar is an excellent overview of PPGIS and the methodologies that are utilized to implement Community Decision Making with GIS.

When:                  Monday, July 29, 2013

Time:                     12:00 Noon EDT/11:00 AM CDT/10:00 AM MDT/9:00 AM PDT 

Duration:             90 minutes

Fee:                       URISA Members $20 / Non-Members $35

Both of the instructors for this educational webinar are certified to teach URISA’s eight-hour workshop, Public Participation GIS: Using GIS to Support Community Decision Making, which is one of the organization’s most-requested and highly-reviewed courses:

  • Judy Colby-George, Principal, Spatial Alternatives, Yarmouth, ME: Judy Colby-George has over eighteen years experience on a wide variety of GIS projects. She works with a number of clients on projects ranging from needs assessment to data conversion to customized programming designed to meet specific needs. She specializes in using GIS for planning, public participation, and environmental applications.
  • Laxmi Ramasubramanian, PhD, AICP – Hunter College, City University of New York (CUNY): Laxmi Ramasubramanian is a planner with over 10 years experience in the design and implementation of participatory action research projects in the USA and abroad. She is currently the President of the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science.

For more information and registration, visit http://www.urisa.org/URISAConnect.


Review Article Be the first to review this article

Featured Video
Currently No Featured Jobs
Upcoming Events
Commercial UAV Expo 2016 at MGM Grand Hotel Conference Center Las Vegas NV - Oct 31 - 2, 2016
GIS-Pro 2016: URISA's 54th Annual Conference at Toronto Canada - Oct 31 - 3, 2016
24th ACM SIGSPATIAL International Conference at San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA San Francisco - Oct 31 - 3, 2016
CADalog.com - Countless CAD add-ons, plug-ins and more.

Internet Business Systems © 2016 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
595 Millich Dr., Suite 216, Campbell, CA 95008
+1 (408)-337-6870 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
AECCafe - Architectural Design and Engineering EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy Policy